Gonzalez, Reed, Highlight Pro Football Hall Of Fame Nominees

Tony Gonzalez, the most accomplished tight end in NFL history, Ed Reed, Champ Bailey and London Fletcher are first-year eligible players among the 102 modern-era nominees for the class of 2019 for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Gonzalez—drafted 13th overall by the Chiefs in 1997—played a dozen seasons for KC before finishing his career with the Atlanta Falcons the final five. He retired in 2013 after 17 pro seasons in which he had 1,325 receptions—second only to some guy name Jerry Rice all-time. By the time he hung up his cleats he had amassed 111 touchdown catches and 15,127-yards receiving.

Yeah, he’s in.

As for Reed and Bailey, both were standout defensive backs on great defensive units. Reed was the 24th overall draft selection in 2002 and played his entire 11 seasons for those Ravens—leading the league in interceptions three times. By the time he retired, he had 64 career picks—with a pair of them being pick sixes that went for 106 and 107-yards. That’s more yards than some running backs amass in a career.

Bailey began his career with Washington in 1999 as the seventh overall draft choice. He moved to Denver in 2004 and led the NFL in interceptions with 10 in 2006. Bailey, who also dabbled on offense, had 52 career picks, made three All-Pro teams.

Fletcher became a starting linebacker in St. Louis in 1999 and won a Super Bowl. A rare undrafted player to be nominated for the Hall of Fame, he missed only one start from 1999-2013 with the Rams, Bills and Redskins. Fletcher made four Pro Bowls and finished his career with 1,380 tackles, 23 interceptions and 39 sacks.

Source: Bleacher Report

Keith and Tony


Content Goes Here